This work is licensed under a
Creative Commons
2.5 License.
Many of the Merry Archers of
Paganus Grimlove were members
of the Society for Creative
Anachronism, or SCA, in 1990. Not
surprisingly, most of them were
The ninth award dates to 18 January 1990, or 18 Chaos 3156.  This is the third year
the award was given by the Merry Archers of Paganus Grimlove. Like the awards given
by the original group, the specific reasons are not listed.
While we don't know the exact year the Ĕk-sĕn-trĭks Cluborguild faded into the mists, it very
likely happened by 1990. The Pineapple Arrow was given by the Merry Archers of Paganus

Genghis Khan seems at first like a very odd choice; Robin Hood seems more likely. The two
are either the first post-humous awardees, or Robin is the second fictional winner.
A military conqueror was named to the Order of the Pineapple? Sounds like an odd
choice. However, Genghis was much more. When his tribe refused to support him as a
young chieftan, he hunted and worked hard to support his betrothed and family. Once
in power, he delegated authority not by blood, but by loyalty and merit. He was also
adaptable to the methods of other cultures, clever, and religiously inquisitive and
It's unknown whether Robin Hood is largely or entirely fictional, and stories of his
exploits varied greatly through the centuries. He is almost always presented as an
outlaw who leads a band of merry men who challenge the authorities. Long before the
early 18th century added "steal from the rich and give to the poor," he was known for
helping the lower classes and for his high regard from women.  And as a great archer
with Merry Men, he is not a surprising choice to be made by the Merry Archers of
Paganus Grimlove.
The image of Pat Pineapple in the background is by
Toby Bruno and used with permission.  We released
the white textured wallpaper into the public domain.
HomePage    Winners
1980s     1990s     2000s     2010s     2020s